Princess Victoria
217 Uxbridge RoadShepherds Bush
W12 9DH
See more about this pub on CAMRA's national web site
Built in 1829 as one of London's first gin palaces, and popular with customers of the subsequent tram along the Uxbridge Road. Various refurbishments have remained sympathetic to the Victorian architecture of this pub, retaining its fireplaces, skylights, intricate cornices and other mouldings, resulting in an attractive interior. Also preserved is the horseshoe-shaped bar whose offer includes two or three ales, keg beers and (reputedly) over 100 gins. The bar room, with its big windows, is furnished with comfortable seating including some leather banquettes. Beyond it is the spacious restaurant, but the interesting menu is available in both areas.
Since 2017 the site has been under the management of Three Cheers Pub Company, via Six Cheers Ltd, its partnership with Ei Managed Investments. Our thanks to Three Cheers Pub Co for the use of certain pictures in this entry. The former tram stop in front of the pub has now been converted to a terrace to supplement the existing courtyard to the rear. The whole of each of these spaces can be reserved for functions as alternatives to the attractive 1829 Room upstairs. Upstairs is also a boutique hotel, its five rooms each named after a different gin cocktail.
Various food and drink offers are available on the pub website.
