Queens Head13 Brook Green
See more about this pub on WhatPub, CAMRA's national pub guide.
The pub dates from at least 1722 and there is a charming picture of its interior in 1839 from Faulkner's History of Hammersmith. Now it is a large but cosy establishment on the famous Brook Green, which was called the Maidenhead until rebuilt in 1812. Upmarket and much larger than the frontage suggests, with several drinking and eating areas stretching back to the rear beer garden, which is worth a visit in itself - note the proper trees. Formerly patronised by Sir Henry Irving and William Morris. Note the pub sign, a nod to the original image used on the world's first postage stamps in 1840.